Speicher continues the French dominance

The peloton stream into the Parc des Princes to 
round off the 1933 Tour de France
The end of the road for the 40 remaining riders of the 1933 Tour de France. Learco Guerra won the stage, but had to give best to Georges Speicher overall.

Once again time bonuses affected the outcome of the Tour: eight minutes gain from four stage wins was sufficient to propel Georges Speicher ahead of the touriste - routier Guiseppe Martano. Martano was doubly unlucky, for Learco Guerra's final stage win saw him leapfrog Martano into second place.

As previously, Belgium, Italy, Switzerland, Germany and France fielded eight-man teams with forty more touristes - routiers. The French took an early option on the yellow jersey with Maurice Archambaud leading from the second day most of the way to Nice. With Leducq clearly not on form and losing time steadily through the Alps, it fell to Speicher to take the lead from the surprising, and previously totally unknown, Belgian Lemaire, at Marseille. After Lemaire lost eight minutes in the Pyrenees on the stage to Pau, it merely remained for the dominant French team to look after Speicher while two former or future World Champions, Guerra and Jean Aerts dominated the closing stages. Meanwhile, the Spaniard Vincente Trueba carved his little niche in the sport's pantheon by winning the first King of the Mountains competition from Antonin Magne and the unlucky Martano.

Remarkably, and controversially, Speicher was not selected by the French for the World Championships later in the year. When another rider dropped out on the eve of the race, he was pulled in at short notice. Legend has it that he was found the night before the race in a cinema! Despite having given up training after the Tour, he started the race, attacked alone after thirty miles and eventually won by five minutes. He thus became the first rider to complete the Tour/World Championship double. In 1936 he went on to win Paris Roubaix; this feat of having won the World's three hardest races is one he shares with Fausto Coppi, Louison Bobet, Jan Jannsen, Felice Gimondi, Eddy Merckx and Bernard Hinault alone.

Stage winners

 StageWinnerOverall Leader
Stage 1Paris - Lille, 262kmMaurice ArchambaudMaurice Archambaud
Stage 2Lille - Charleville, 192kmLearco GuerraArchambaud
Stage 3Charleville - Metz, 166kmAlfons SchepersArchambaud
Stage 4Metz - Belfort, 220kmJean AertsArchambaud
Stage 5Belfort - Evian, 293kmLéon LouvetArchambaud
Stage 6Evian - Aix-les-Bains, 207kmGuerraArchambaud
Stage 7Aix-les-Bains - Grenoble, 229kmGuerraArchambaud
Stage 8Grenoble - Gap, 102kmGeorges SpeicherArchambaud
Stage 9Gap - Digne, 227kmSpeicherGeorges Lemaire
Stage 10Digne - Nice, 156kmFernand CornezLemaire
Stage 11Nice - Cannes, 128kmArchambaudArchambaud
Stage 12Cannes - Marseille, 208kmSpeicherGeorges Speicher
Stage 13Marseille - Montpellier, 168kmAndré LeducqSpeicher
Stage 14Montpellier - Perpignan, 166kmLeducqSpeicher
Stage 15Perpignan - Ax-les-Thermes, 158kmAertsSpeicher
Stage 16Ax-les-Thermes - Luchon, 165kmLouvetSpeicher
Stage 17Luchon - Tarbes, 91kmAertsSpeicher
Stage 18Tarbes - Pau, 185kmGuerraSpeicher
Stage 19Pau - Bordeaux, 233kmAertsSpeicher
Stage 20Bordeaux - La Rochelle, 183kmAertsSpeicher
Stage 21La Rochelle - Rennes, 266kmAertsSpeicher
Stage 22Rennes - Caen, 169kmRené Le GrèvesSpeicher
Stage 23Caen - Paris, 222kmGuerraSpeicher

In a nutshell



1st: Georges Speicher, France, 4395km in 147h 51' 37" (29.732km/h)
2nd: Learco Guerra, Italy, @4' 01"
3rd: Guiseppe Martano, Italy (Touriste - Routier), @5' 08"
4th: Georges Lemaire, Belgium, @15' 45"
5th: Maurice Archambaud, France, @21' 22"
6th: Vincente Trueba, Spain (Touriste - Routier), @27' 27"
7th: Léon Level, France (Touriste - Routier), @35' 23"
8th: Antonin Magne, France, @36' 37"
9th: Jean Aerts, Belgium, @42' 53"
10th: Kurt Stöpl, Germany, @45' 28"

(40th: Ernest Neuhard, France (Touriste - Routier), @3h 57' 44")


1st: Vincente Trueba, Spain (Touriste - Routier), 126
2nd: Antonin Magne, France, 78
3rd: Guiseppe Martano, Italy (Touriste - Routier), 75


1st: France 444h 32' 50"
2nd: Belgium @1h 20' 56"
3rd: Germany @2h 40' 24"' 50"