Magne makes his mark

Not even a super-strong Belgian team could dislodge Antonin Magne from the lead as he proved a worthy successor to his compatriot André Leducq. The Italian Rafaele Di Paco and, once again, Charles Pélissier fought out a series of sprints on the flat stages, but "Tonin" made his move on the first Pyreneen stage to win alone by more than four minutes from Antonio Pesenti. Pesenti remained his nearest challenger until the penultimate stage, when Rebry, Magne and Demuysère broke away from the bunch and eventually finish with more than 17 minutes in hand. This was sufficient to move Demuysère up to second and Rebry to fourth, but despite Belgium placing four riders in the top six, Magne, "the Taciturn", ran out a comfortable-enough winner in the end. Antonio Pesenti was to have his moment of glory the following year when he won the Giro.

Stage winners

 StageWinnerOverall Leader
Stage 1Paris - Caen, 208kmAlfred HamerlinckAlfred Hamerlinck
Stage 2Caen - Dinan, 212kmMax BullaMax Bulla
Stage 3Dinan - Brest, 206kmFabio BattesiniLéon Le Calvez
Stage 4Brest - Vannes, 211kmAndré GodinatRafaele Di Paco
Stage 5Vannes - Les Sables d'Olonne, 202kmCharles PélissierDi Paco and Charles Pélissier
Stage 6Les Sables d'Olonne - Bordeaux, 338kmHamerlinckDi Paco
Stage 7Bordeaux - Bayonne, 180kmGérard LonckeDi Paco
Stage 8Bayonne - Pau, 106kmPélissierPélissier
Stage 9Pau - Luchon, 231kmAntonin MagneAntonin Magne
Stage 10Luchon - Perpignan, 322kmRafaele Di PacoMagne
Stage 11Perpignan - Montpellier, 164kmDi PacoMagne
Stage 12Montpellier - Marseille, 207kmBullaMagne
Stage 13Marseille - Cannes, 181kmPélissierMagne
Stage 14Cannes - Nice, 132kmEugenio GestriMagne
Stage 15Nice - Gap, 233kmJef DemuysèreMagne
Stage 16Gap - Grenoble, 102kmPélissierMagne
Stage 17Grenoble - Aix-les-Bains, 230kmBullaMagne
Stage 18Aix-les-Bains - Evian, 204kmDemuysèreMagne
Stage 19Evian - Belfort, 282kmDi PacoMagne
Stage 20Belfort - Colmar, 209kmAndré LeducqMagne
Stage 21Colmar - Metz, 192kmDi PacoMagne
Stage 22Metz - Charleville, 159kmDi PacoMagne
Stage 23Charleville - Malo-les-Bains, 271kmGaston RebryMagne
Stage 24Malo-les-Bains - Paris, 313kmPélissierMagne

In a nutshell



1st: Antonin Magne, France, 5095km in 177h 10' 03" (28.735km/h)
2nd: Jef Demuysère, Belgium, @12' 56"
3rd: Antonio Pesenti, Italy, @22' 51"
4th: Gaston Rebry, Belgium, @46' 40"
5th: Maurice Dewaele, Belgium @49' 46"
6th: Julien Vervaecke, Belgium, @1h 10' 11"
7th: Louis Péglion, France, @1h 16' 33"
8th: Erich Metze, Germany, @1h 19' 59"
9th: Albert Büchi, Switzerland (Australia - Switzerland combined team), @1h 29' 29"
10th: André Leducq, France, @1h 30' 08"

(35th: Richard Lamb, Australia (Australia - Switzerland combined team), @6h 27' 06")


1st: Belgium 533h 19' 31"
2nd: France @57' 19"
3rd: Germany @3h 11' 38"