The coming of national teams

The remaining members of the French 
team at the finish of the 1930 Tour de France
The six surviving members of the French team take their Lap of Honour in Paris: André Leducq, Antonin Magne, Marcel Bidot, Pierre Magne, Charles Pélissier and Jules Merviel. The other two members of the team, Victor Fontan and Joseph Mauclair, both retired on stage nine.

Henri Desgrange, disgusted with the way the major cycle manufacturers' teams diluted the individual heroism of the event, elected to run the 1930 Tour with national, rather than trade, teams. To pay for this innovation - for no cycle manufacturer was going to pay for an event with little publicity value - Desgrange introduced the Publicity Caravan, a feature to this day.

100 riders took part: 8 each from Belgian, French, German, Spanish and Italian teams, with another 60 Touristes - Routiers. This was also the beginning of the great French domination: Charles Pélissier won eight stages, and André Leducq won overall by about 14 minutes from Learco Guerra. This was despite a dramatic fall by Leducq on the descent of the Galibier. In spite of losing many minutes, Leducq regained the bunch and even went on to win the stage with the help, ironically, of his teammates! One wonders what Desgrange thought of it all...

Stage winners

 StageWinnerOverall Leader
Stage 1Paris - Caen, 206kmCharles PélissierCharles Pélissier
Stage 2Caen - Dinan, 203kmLearco GuerraLearco Guerra
Stage 3Dinan - Brest, 206kmPélissierGuerra
Stage 4Brest - Vannes, 210kmOmer TaverneGuerra
Stage 5Vannes - Les Sables d'Olonne 202kmAndré LeducqGuerra
Stage 6Les Sables d'Olonne - Bordeaux 285kmJean AertsGuerra
Stage 7Bordeaux - Hendaye, 222kmJules MervielGuerra
Stage 8Hendaye - Pau, 146kmAlfredo BindaGuerra
Stage 9Pau - Luchon, 231kmBindaAndré Leducq
Stage 10Luchon - Perpignan, 322kmPélissierLeducq
Stage 11Perpignan - Montpellier, 164kmPélissierLeducq
Stage 12Montpellier - Marseille, 209kmAntonin MagneLeducq
Stage 13Marseille - Cannes, 181kmGuerraLeducq
Stage 14Cannes - Nice, 132kmLouis PéglionLeducq
Stage 15Nice - Grenoble, 333kmGuerraLeducq
Stage 16Grenoble - Evian, 331kmLeducqLeducq
Stage 17Evian - Belfort, 282kmFrans BonduelLeducq
Stage 18Belfort - Metz, 223kmPélissierLeducq
Stage 19Metz - Charleville, 159kmPélissierLeducq
Stage 20Charleville - Malo-Les-Bains, 271kmPélissierLeducq
Stage 21Malo-Les-Bains - Paris, 300kmPélissierLeducq

In a nutshell



1st: André Leducq, France, 4818km in 172h 12' 16" (27.978km/h)
2nd: Learco Guerra, Italy, @14' 13"
3rd: Antonin Magne, France, @16' 03"
4th: Jef Demuysère, Belgium, @21' 34"
5th: Marcel Bidot, France, @41' 18"
6th: Pierre Magne, France, @45' 42"
7th: Frans Bonduel, Belgium, @56' 19"
8th: Benoît Fauré, France (Touriste - Routier), @58' 34"
9th: Charles Pélissier, France, @1h 04' 37"
10th: Adolf Schön, Germany, @1h 21' 39"

(59th: Marcel Ilpide, France (Touriste - Routier), @15h 10' 18")


1st: France 517h 34' 09"
2nd: Belgium @1h 48' 55"
3rd: Germany @5h 09' 59"