Faber is the first non-French winner

A huge field lined up for the seventh edition of the Tour, but they were all crushed by the dominance of the Luxembourger François Faber, the Tour's first foreign winner. Faber, who was tragically to lose his life during the Great War, was one of the sports greatest riders from that era: to his Tour victory could be added victories in seven classics. His Tour victory was built on a great run between Roubaix and Nice, when he won five consecutive stages, each one a lone victory. His all-round consistency was sufficient to see him win easily in a formula stilled based on points: of the 14 stages, he won six, finished in the top three in five more and never finished lower than tenth.

Amongst the minor points: not only was Faber the Tour's first foreign winner, but Cyrille Van Hauwaert opening stage win was the first by a Belgian.

Stage winners

 StageWinnerOverall Leader
Stage 1Paris - Roubaix, 272kmCyrille Van HauwaertCyrille Van Hauwaert
Stage 2Roubaix - Metz, 398kmFrançois FaberFrançois Faber
Stage 3Metz - Belfort, 259kmFrançois FaberFrançois Faber
Stage 4Belfort - Lyon, 309kmFrançois FaberFrançois Faber
Stage 5Lyon - Grenoble, 311kmFrançois FaberFrançois Faber
Stage 6Grenoble - Nice, 345kmFrançois FaberFrançois Faber
Stage 7Nice - Nîmes, 345kmErnest PaulFrançois Faber
Stage 8Nîmes - Toulouse, 303kmJean AlavoineFrançois Faber
Stage 9Toulouse - Bayonne, 299kmConstant MénagerFrançois Faber
Stage 10Bayonne - Bordeaux, 269kmFrançois FaberFrançois Faber
Stage 11Bordeaux - Nantes, 391kmLouis TrousselierFrançois Faber
Stage 12Nantes - Brest, 321kmGustave GarrigouFrançois Faber
Stage 13Brest - Caen, 415kmPaul DubocFrançois Faber
Stage 14Caen - Paris, 251kmJean AlavoineFrançois Faber

In a nutshell



1st: François Faber, (Luxembourg), Alcyon, 4488km at 28.658km/h, 37 points
2nd: Gustave Garrigou, (France), Alcyon, 57
3rd: Jean Alavoine, (France), Alcyon, 66
4th: Paul Duboc, (France), Alcyon, 70
5th: Cyrille Van Hauwaert, (Belgium), Alcyon, 92
6th: Ernest Paul, (France), "Isole", 95
7th: Constant Ménager, (France), Le Globe, 102
8th: Louis Trousellier, (France), Alcyon, 114
9th: Eugène Christophe, (France), "Isole", 139
10th: Aldo Bettini, (Italy), "Isole", 142

(55th: Georges Devilly, (France), "Isole", 713)