Ash Museum Logo
Ash Museum
Ash Museum Logo

Home | Museum | History Room | Local History | Contact us

History Room

Our documents and photographs are kept in our History Room.

We open the History Room BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. To book, please phone Brian Perry on 01252 542341.

A small selection from the material in the History Room

The Heathcote School Collection is very rich in memories. It includes all the photographs and artwork displayed in the exhibition at the school preceding its closure in 1987 (65/1-2). All the material has been indexed by name and subject. We also have a large collection of colour transparencies showing school activities 1956-1987 and aerial photographs of Ash Parish (66/-). There is a selection of highlights from the school log books (70/-). The collection also includes the history of the village, including items as diverse as a newspaper report of a lecture given in 1923 (94/3/1), illustrations of the Methodist Church at various dates (94/27/1-5) and Longacre from the air (94/33/1).

Our collection of maps includes a special map showing the mains drainage scheme in 1954, as well as a variety of Ordnance Survey maps of various dates and scales (74/-).

A selection of newscuttings, 1938-1969, collected by well known Councillor R.F.Tolley makes interesting reading (21/1), as does his collection of election posters and leaflets (21/2).

We have a collection of photographs and cuttings from Ash Vale First School dating from 1958 until its closure (88/-).

We have copies of the fascinating publications of local boy Peter Freeman (111/1/1-7) along with copies of some of his wonderful drawings (111/2/1-2).


Home | Museum | History Room | Local History | Contact us
© Ash and District Local History Museum Society ash.museum@ntlworld.com
c/o Ash Parish Council Offices, Ash Centre, Ash Hill Road, Ash, Surrey GU12 5DP