Croyland Abbey (Church of St Guthlac, St Mary, & St Bartholomew).
Crowland, seven miles north of Peterborough on the A1073.
The remains of Croyland Abbey, once the region's largest monastery, provide some idea of its splendour, with the north aisle and the fifteenth-century bell tower the best preserved portions.
There has been an Abbey on this site since 716AD when King Ethelbald built the first one in honour of Guthlac, a hermit who had lived on croyland island since 699AD
The original abbey was destroyed by the Danes in 870AD and a second building was burnt down in 1091. The third abbey was started in 1113 but was partly destroyed by fire in 1143. Rebuilding and extensions continued and a tower was added in 1427. The Abbey was partially demolished in 1539 at the Dissolution of the Monasteries but the 15th century north aisle, about a third of the church, was retained for use by the parish. It may have been further damaged by Cromwell's artillery during the Civil War.
The remaining buildings were conserved at the end of the nineteenth century by the efforts of the Rev. T.H.Le Boeuf and the remains of the magnificently sculptured 13th century West Front was conserved as recently as 1983.
Nearby in the village of Crowland (note the different spelling to Croyland) there is a unique 14th century bridge which spanned a split in the river Welland.
Any problems, please contact the Churchmouse Website webmaster.
This site is a work in progress.