Cruttenden Connections - Home

Surname  |  Historical  |  ModernPlaces  |  Vital Statistics  |  Census  |  Military Service  |

 

The Abraham Cruttenden House


Cruttenden Ship


Abraham Cruttenden House


Fort Crittenden


Crittenden - APA77


Little Crittenden


  Damson


 


 

Abraham Cruttenden House

Abraham Cruttenden House

The Abraham Cruttenden House was still standing in 1930 on the north side of the Boston Post Road in East River just beyond the Railroad bridge when this painting was commissioned by Mabel Chittenden.

Today the building at #123 is hidden behind shrubbery on the north side of the Old Post Road to Boston. Built in 1639, it is the oldest house in East River. It remained with the descendants of Abraham Cruttenden until well into the 20th century.

 

 
Madison was first settled in 1641 as part of Guilford. It was organized as a separate community in 1707 and incorporated in 1826. The Town was the one hundred twenty-eighth town established in Connecticut. The Town encompasses approximately 36.3 square miles within New Haven County, approximately 15 miles east of New Haven and 35 miles south of Hartford. Interstate 95 and state highways 80 and 1 (Boston Post Road) intersect the Town for east and west transportation access, while state highway 79 provides north-south access. Today Madison is bounded on the east by Clinton; on the north by Durham; on the south by Long Island Sound; and on the west by Guilford. The Town is primarily a suburban, residential community with single-family homes. [Copyright 2001 Madison, CT Chamber of Commerce]

 
This Long Island Sound shoreline town [Guilford] is a combination residential and summer community. Five miles in width and 12 miles in length, the town contains 47.6 square miles and a population of 21,000. Flanked on the west by Branford and on the east by Madison, these shoreline towns are suburbs to urban New Haven.

Guilford has a small, historic, charming atmosphere which is highlighted by its rustic character and individuality. The town seeks to maintain its value and character as it continues the development of its commercial and industrial area in the southern section. This area is well served by major highways, including Interstate 95 and rail connections.

Unique characteristics include the Town Green with tree lined abutting streets that boast the third largest collection of historical homes in New England, dwellings from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries. Enjoy the numerous boutique shops, antique markets and art galleries that also surround the Green. Nearby are historical museums that display Guilford's heritage, including the Hyland House (1660), Henry Whitfield State Museum (1639), Thomas Griswold House (1774) and the Dudley Farm.
[Guilford, CT]

 

Ian Cruttenden 2005

Contact Me  |  Copyright  |  Disclaimer  |  Links  |