Stopping the bout
The bout stops on the word ‘Halt’, except in the case of special events occurring which modify the regular and normal conditions of the bout (cf. also t.32 Duration of a Bout).
Directly after the order ‘Halt’ has been given, a fencer may not start a new action; only the movement which has begun before the order was given remains valid. Everything which takes place afterwards is entirely non-valid (But cf. t.32 Duration of a Bout).
If a fencer stops before the word ‘Halt’ and is hit, the hit is valid.
The order ‘Halt’ is also given if the play of the fencers is dangerous, confused, or contrary to the Rules, if one of the fencers is disarmed or leaves the piste, or if, while retiring, they approach too near the spectators or the Referee (cf. t.28 Crossing the Limits of the Piste, t.55/6 Validity or Priority of the Hit and t.73/j).