If one of the fencers crosses the lateral boundaries of the piste with one foot only, they are not penalised but the Referee must immediately call ‘Halt’ and replace the fencers on guard on the piste.
A fencer who crosses one of the lateral boundaries of the piste with both feet is penalised. When the fencers are replaced on guard, the opponent of the fencer who has crossed the lateral boundary will step forward one metre from the position they occupied when their opponent left the piste; the fencer who is penalised must retire in order to resume the correct fencing distance.
If the exercise of this penalty places a fencer with both feet beyond the rear limit of the piste, that fencer is considered as having been hit.
A fencer who crosses one of the boundaries of the piste with both feet - e.g. when making a fleche - to avoid being hit will be penalised as specified in Articles t.114, t.116, t.120 Offences and Penalties.