Cambridge Kulcha Listing

A listing of early music in Cambridge, UK, with a few other selected items of note, with a page of Musical links.
Notes for this listing can be found at the bottom.

2014timeplacestyleseriestitleperformerdetails
Thu 17 Apr 20:00 King's CC Baroque
Easter at King's
Chamber Recital Andreas Scholl & AAM
Vivaldi, JSBach & Veracini
Thu 17 Apr 21:30 King's CC Baroque
Easter at King's
Membra Jesu Nostri English Voices, Pavlo Beznosiuk et am.
Buxtehude
Fri 18 Apr 10:30 King's CC Baroque
Easter at King's
Ante-Communion & Veneration of the Cross College Choir
Allegri, Victoria & João IV
Sat 19 Apr 19:00 King's CC Baroque
Easter at King's
Israel in Egypt AAM & College Choir
Handel
Fri 25 Apr 19:30 St Andrew's, Girton Baroque
CSR
Johann Georg Pisendel La Serenissima Vivaldi, Albinoni, Montanari & Pisendel
A tribute to the violinist
Sat 26 Apr 20:00 St Bene't's Baroque

JSBach Henrique Meissner, Ellen Grevelink & Dan Tidhar plus Cima, Handel, Vivaldi & al.
recorders & harpsichord
Sun 27 Apr 20:00 Fitzwilliam, auditorium Baroque

La Chasse Syrinx Tellmann Suites & Overtures
Tue 29 Apr 20:00 West Road Baroque

The Art of Fugue Angela Hewitt JSBach
Piano
2-4 May ??:?? various Renaissance /Baroque
CEM
Festival of the Voice
see entries below for details
Fri 2 May 17:30 King's CC Renaissance
CEM
Choral Evensong College Choir
Dunstable & Taverner
Fri 2 May 18:30 Trinity CC Medieval - Modern
CEM
A Hilliard Anniversary Album Hilliard Ensemble & Singer Pur

Fri 2 May 20:00 John's CC Baroque

Echoes of Venice Collegium Musicum Tallis, Striggio, Schütz et al.
Fri 2 May 21:00 Trinity CC Renaissance - Modern
CEM
Nar sind Wir, Herr amarcord
Anon, Zallamella, Stefanini, Walter, di Lasso et al.
Sat 3 May 12:00 Trinity CC Renaissance - Modern
CEM
O Thou whom my soul loveth Singer Pur
Willaert, Phinot, Gallus, Richafort, de Latre et al.
Sat 3 May 15:00 The Fitz talk
CEM
Nicholas Hilliard's Art of the Miniature Philippa Abrahams
not included in the festival ticket
Sat 3 May 17:30 King's CC Renaissance
CEM
Choral Evensong College Choir
Tomkins & Byrd
Sat 3 May 19:30 Trinity CC Renaissance - Modern
CEM
Gala Concert Hilliard Ensemble, Singer Pur, amarcord & Eo Nomine
Monteverdi, Wilbye, Schütz, Gesualdo, Tomkins et al.
Sat 3 May 20:00 Girton Gt Hall Baroque

Echoes of Venice Collegium Musicum Tallis, Striggio, Schütz et al.
Sun 4 May 10:30 King's CC Renaissance
CEM
Morning Service College Choir

Sun 4 May 10:30 King's CC Renaissance
CEM
Choral Evensong College Choir
Victoria & Philips
Sat 10 May 19:30 Lt St Mary's Renaissance

Magnificats & Motets De Profundis de Ribera, teacher of Victoria
Sat 10 May 20:00 Jesus CC Baroque
Pièces de clavecin en concerts Anna-Riikka Santapukki, Kari Olamaa & Johanna Kilpijärvi harpsichord, baroque violin & viola da gamba
Rameau
Fri 16 May 19:00 Queens' Long Gallery Renaissance
CEM
Dinner Concert Emma Murphy & Lynda Sayce
Black tie Dinner with Tudor music
soprano, recorder & lute
Sat 17 May 13:00 Michaelhouse Baroque
Recorder Sonate Norwich St Band harpsichord, recorder & 'cello
Sat 17 May 18:30 John's CC Baroque
Cantata Evensong St John's Sinfonnia Meine Seele erhebt den Herren & Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen
Sun 18 May 16:00 Lee Seng Tee Hall, Wolfson Baroque

recital Lynette Alcántara & Dan Tidhar Mezzo Soprano & harpsichord
Sun 18 May 18:30 John's CC Baroque
Organ Recital Freddie James Frescobaldi & JSBach
prior to Evensong
19-24 May 12:00 - 15:00 & 17:00 - 22:30 Jesus Green beer CAMRA Cambridge Beer Festival


Sat 24 May 19:30 West Road Baroque
AAM
Celebrating Bach AAM
Fri 30 May 20:00 Lee Seng Tee Hall, Wolfson Baroque
CSR
Bach & son Jacqueline Ross & David Ponsford violin & harpsichord
JS & CPE
Sat 1 Jun 14:00 Jesus & Sidney Sussex CCs Baroque
CSR
Organ Tour Anne Page & Paul Binski organ & architechture
Sun 8 Jun 15:00 Lt St Mary's Baroque
CEM
Suites by Bach Jakob Lindberg Lute
Fri 4 Jul 19:30 Howard Theatre, Downing Baroque
CEM
Birds on Fire Fretwork Jewish music for Viols
Wed 22 Jul 20:00 Trinity CC Baroque
CSR
Goldberg Variations Joanna MaccGregor JSBach
piano
3-10 Aug ??:?? Sidney Sussex Course CEM
Baroque Summer School
Parley of Instruments The Purcell Legacy
Sun 3 Aug 16:00 Lt St Mary's Baroque
CEM
The Sprightly Hautboy Parley of Instruments Music for the oboe
Wed 6 Aug 20:00 Trinity CC Baroque
CEM
Shakespeare after Shakespeare Philippa Hyde & Parley of Instruments Songs and instrumental music from the plays
Sat 9 Aug 19:30 Emmanuel URC Baroque
CEM
The Purcell Legacy Summer School Students Purcell, Handel, Croft et al.
10-16 Aug ??:?? Sidney Sussex Course CEM
Renaissance Summer School
Philip Thorby et am. Musica Transalpina
Sun 10 Aug 14:00 Sidney Sussex CC Renaissance
CEM
An Argosy for England Philip Thorby & Jennie Cassidy Music from the libraries of C16th English great houses
Wed 13 Aug 20:00 Trinity CC Renaissance
CEM
Awake! Awake! Philomel Ballads & dances for Shakespeare's plays
Fri 15 Aug 19:30 Sidney Sussex CC Renaissance
CEM
Musica Transalpina Summer School Students English & Italian Renaissance music including Tallis's Spem in Alium
Sat 16 Aug 12:00 Queens' CC Renaissance
CEM
Westron Wynde Mercian Consort
Masterpieces of Tudor England by Tye, Parsons, Sheppard & Taverner
Mon 18 Aug 19:30 Trinity CC Renaissance
CEM
O Radiant Dawn Stile Antico Byrd & MacMillan
Fri 12 Sep 19:30 Trinity CC Renaissance /Baroque
CEM
Ravish'd with Sacred Extasies Elin Manahan Thomas & David Miller Soprano & lute
Campion, Dowland & Purcell
Mon 13 Oct 19:30 Trinity CC Baroque
CEM
La Bretagna all'italiana La Serenissima Sonate & cantate
Handel, Boyce & Vivaldi
Sun 26 Oct 02:00 Britain Summer Time
British Summer Time ends
Clocks go back an hour.
Sat 6 Dec 10:30 Mill Road fair
Mill Road Winter Fair
various
2015 time place style series title performer details
Sun 29 Mar 01:00 Britain Summer Time
British Summer Time starts
Clocks go forward an hour.
Sun 25 Oct 02:00 Britain Summer Time
British Summer Time ends
Clocks go back an hour.
Sat 5 Dec 10:30 Mill Road fair
Mill Road Winter Fair
various

Notes

The information here is liable to be updated at short notice, as events are discovered, often hanging from church railings.
It is the intention that this provides as complete a listing of early music in Cambridge as I can manage.
Please follow the links to the original information, which may be more accurate.
No cookies are used on this page.

Valid HTML 4.01 Strict