Cambridge Kulcha Listing

A listing of early music in Cambridge, UK, with a few other selected items of note, with a page of Musical links.
Notes for this listing can be found at the bottom.

2015timeplacestyleseriestitleperformerdetails
Wed 28 Jan 20:30 Trinity CC Baroque

Cantatas by Candlelight
JSBach
Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme
followed by Sung Compline
Sat 31 Jan 18:30 John's CC Baroque

Cantata Evensong St John's Sinfonia & Choir Jesus nahm zu sich die Zwölfe
Wed 4 Feb 20:30 Trinity CC Baroque

Cantatas by Candlelight
JSBach
Ich bin vergnügt mit meinem Glücke
followed by Sung Compline
Fri 6 Feb 20:00 John's CC Baroque

The Lion & the Lance CUCM , Historic Woodwind (RAM), Historic Brass of the Combined Conservatoires & CU Chamber Choir From Venice to Leipzig
JSBach, Schein & Gabrieli
Sat 7 Feb 20:00 Girton Great Hall Baroque

The Lion & the Lance CUCM , Historic Woodwind (RAM), Historic Brass of the Combined Conservatoires & CU Chamber Choir From Venice to Leipzig
JSBach, Schein & Gabrieli
Wed 11 Feb 20:30 Trinity CC Baroque

Cantatas by Candlelight
JSBach
Wer Dank opfert, der preiset mich
followed by Sung Compline
Thu 12 Feb 13:10 John's CC Baroque-ish
St John's Music Festival
Borrowing from Bach College organ students & choristers The Orgelbüchlein Project
A project to complete JSBach's unfinished Orgelbüchlein.
Thu 12 Feb 20:00 John's CC Renaissance
St John's Music Festival
The Edge of Antiquity Beaufort Consort Plainsong to Monteverdi
Josquin, Tallis, Vittoria, Palestrina, Gabrieli & Monteverdi
Fri 13 Feb 13:10 John's CC Renaissance /modern

Madrigals Gesualdo Six Monteverdi, Gesualdo + Ligeti
Fri 13 Feb 19:30 Trinity CC Baroque
CEM
A Musical Offering The Bach Players JSBach, Telemann & Buxtehude
flute, violin, viola da gamba & harpsichord
Sat 14 Feb 20:00 Jesus CC Baroque
JCMS
Organ Recital Bertie Baigent JSBach + German & Dutch organ music
Sat 21 Feb 20:00 Jesus CC Baroque
JCMS
An Evening in Hamburg Jean-Christophe Dijoux JSBach, Mattheson & their contemporaries
harpsichord
Wed 25 Feb 20:30 Trinity CC Baroque

Cantatas by Candlelight
JSBach
Lobe den Herrn, meine Seele
followed by Sung Compline
Fri 27 Feb 20:00 Trinity CC Baroque
TCMS
Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen Eboracum Baroque
Telemann & JSBach
Sun 1 Mar 19:30 St Bene't's Baroque
CEM
French Suites Julian Perkins JSBach
Clavichord
Fri 6 Mar 18:30 Lee Seng Tee Hall, Wolfson Baroque

Works for Baroque Trumpet Chris Parsons & Dan Tidhar trumpet & harpsichord
Fri 6 Mar 20:00 Trinity CC Baroque
TCMS
Baroque Arias Judith Lebiez
Telemann & JSBach
Wed 11 Mar 20:00 King's CC Renaissance

Tenebrae Responsories Gesualdo Six for Maundy Thursday (Feria Quint) by Gesualdo
Sat 21 Mar 19:30 Trinity CC Baroque
CEM
Telemann & Bach Soloman's Knot & Les Passions de l'Ame
Sun 29 Mar 01:00 Britain Summer Time
British Summer Time starts
Clocks go forward an hour.
Thu 2 Apr 13:00 King's CC Renaissance
Easter at King's
European Passion The King's Men de Wert, di Lassus & Gesualdo
Thu 2 Apr 19:30 King's CC Renaissance
Easter at King's
St John Passion I Fagiolini Schütz & Victoria
Thu 2 Apr 21:00 King's CC Renaissance
Easter at King's
Meditation for Maundy Thursday I Fagiolini & English Cornett & Sackbut Ensemble Schütz & Victoria
Fri 3 Apr 10:30 King's CC Renaissance
Easter at King's
Ante-Communion and Veneration of the Cross College Choir Allegri, Victoria & João IV
Fri 3 Apr 17:30 King's CC Renaissance
Easter at King's
Choral Evensong Choral Scholars Byrd & Tallis
Sat 4 Apr 18:30 King's CC Baroque
Easter at King's
St John Passion College Choir, AAM & al. JSBach
Sun 19 Apr 15:00 St Bene't's Renaissance
CEM
Heavenly Noyse Amphion Consort Dowland, Morley & Alison
Clavichord
Fri 8 May 19:30 Trinity CC Baroque
CEM
Jephte and Dido & Aeneas La Nuova Musica Carissimi & Purcell
18-23 May 12:00 - 15:00 & 17:00 - 22:30 Jesus Green beer CAMRA Cambridge Beer Festival


Sun 19 Jul 19:00 Trinity CC Baroque
CEM
Selene Webb Memorial Fundraising Concert various famous performers including tutors & former students Dixit Dominus etc + work especially commissioned from Carl Rütti
2-9 Aug ??:00 Cambridge Summer School CEM
Baroque Summer School various

9-15 Aug ??:00 Cambridge Summer School CEM
Renaissance Summer School various

Sun 25 Oct 02:00 Britain Summer Time
British Summer Time ends
Clocks go back an hour.
Sat 5 Dec 10:30 Mill Road fair
Mill Road Winter Fair
various
2016 time place style series title performer details
Sun 27 Mar 01:00 Britain Summer Time
British Summer Time starts
Clocks go forward an hour.
16-21 May 12:00 - 15:00 & 17:00 - 22:30 Jesus Green beer CAMRA Cambridge Beer Festival


31 Jul-7 Aug ??:00 Cambridge Summer School CEM
Baroque Summer School various

7-13 Aug ??:00 Cambridge Summer School CEM
Renaissance Summer School various

Sun 30 Oct 02:00 Britain Summer Time
British Summer Time ends
Clocks go back an hour.
Sat 3 Dec 10:30 Mill Road fair
Mill Road Winter Fair
various

Notes

The information here is liable to be updated at short notice, as events are discovered, often hanging from church railings.
It is the intention that this provides as complete a listing of early music in Cambridge as I can manage.
Please follow the links to the original information, which may be more accurate.
No cookies are used on this page.

Valid HTML 4.01 Strict